Blaine By The Sea

638 Peace Portal Drive

The Milhollin brothers transformed the landscape of Blaine with their craftiness and ingenuity.

The 1880s were a time of incredible growth for Blaine. Fishing, logging, and canning businesses were on the rise. Brothers John and James Milhollin arrived in Blaine in 1886 after hearing that the booming town was in need of a wharf. 

With construction experience and funding from local real estate developer Jasper Lindsey, the two brothers worked from 1886 to 1887, logging and clearing the land around E Street and using the logs to build the E Street Wharf. That location is still in use today as Blaine Harbor, and E Street has become Marine Drive.
The two hard working Milhollin brothers, John and James build the E Street Wharf, known today as Blaine Harbor.

In 1905, the Milhollin brothers incorporated the Farmers Mutual Telephone Company that was based in this building, 638 Peace Portal Drive. This company served to notify people about fires, storms, and natural disasters.

Current Tenants

Three companies currently occupy this building today: Jones & Jones U.S. Customs Brokers, Jack Neimann’s Black Forest Steakhouse, and Air Safety Art LLC.

1954 2021
Scroll to Top
X